Handling new upstream versions

Upgrading with new upstream version normally happens in two steps:

The script svn-upgrade (formerly svn-uupdate) does both things for you and also creates a new changelog entry. The first step is done internally by using a third party script (svn_load_dirs, see Subversion book for documentation), the second step is done with the merge command of svn. Just run svn-upgrade from you local working directory (which corresponds the trunk/ checkout product).

After running svn-upgrade some files may be in conflicting state. This is naturaly happens if you have modified some files in the upstream package and now upstream did something similar on the same positions so svn merge was confused.

When svn-upgrade complains about files in conflicting state, fix them manually. When done, use the svn resolved command to mark them as clean and svn commit to update the repository.